top of page

Progress on an Intuitive painting

Here is a set of pictures of an intuitive painting as it progresses.

This is how I begin. I float some colors onto a sheet of Yupo, spray lots of water on it, and let the paint flow. Then I look for an image in the paint and use a stick of vine charcoal to lightly indicate what I am seeing or envisioning.





As the painting progresses, you can see it is still pretty rough as far as the technique goes. It does not look settled or finished. I decide it needs more bright blue to offset the orange hair. Here you can clearly see the face taking shape.

Here is the finished painting. Note that the prior two photos were taken indoors in my studio. This final photo is taken outdoors. See what a difference daylight makes when you are photographing a painting. This is the true color. There is a lot of white, both white paint and the white of the Yupo synthetic paper.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page